I’m Back

Phew, it’s been a while since I dared to check in here.

I’m still struggling with writing. Even my journaling has slowly petered off and ground to a halt. Amazingly, though, I feel better than I have in years. A lot has happened since I started this blog – I’ve been sober for over half a year, met a lot of new people, lost my job, started looking for a new job, moved to the other side of the city with my boyfriend, and most importantly, in my opinion: I’ve become just a little more courageous.

I recently met a guy in his forties who works freelance as a copywriter. He asked if I’m writing these days, and having lost both my writing job and my spark, I said no. So he advised me to write three or four sentences a day – no more, no less. I said I’d try and then get back to him.

Guess how that went.

But still, I’m feeling good. Still I’m feeling happy and on the right path. Because while all my attempts at writing regularly fail so hard they should award me with some prize, I’m finally – finally – coming to love the idea of going with the flow. I don’t need to write 2000 words a day at this stage. My biggest task is to challenge the multitude of fears I struggle with every day, and that’s completely fine. At this point in my life writing should just be a fun outlet. I don’t know why I didn’t figure it out sooner.

That’s why I’m writing here. I just wanted to. I want to. I feel like writing a hundred blog posts tonight. It feels fun again, and that means so much more to me than “having written”.

Good evening from Norway, guys. I hope you’re all well.

7 thoughts on “I’m Back

Leave a Reply

